2018 Olympics
Days
78
Hours
2
Mins
34
Secs
32

About Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton

Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton is the governing body for all activities pertaining to the sports of bobsleigh and skeleton in the country. Canada began sending bobsleigh teams to compete at the world level in the late 1950’s. The modern era of Canadian participation in skeleton racing was initiated in 1986 with the opening of the Olympic track, constructed for the 1988 Olympic Winter Games at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary.

Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton fields teams to the America Cup, Europa Cup, Intercontinental Cup and World Cup circuits, as well as to World Championships and the Olympic Winter Games. Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton’s competitive season starts with team selections in October and ends by March with either the World Championships or Olympic Winter Games. During the off-season, much time is spent in the weight room, and on both running and push tracks.

Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton, in conjunction with the provincial associations, holds recruitment camps in virtually every major centre across Canada. Regular training camps are held in Canadian cities such as Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa, Calgary and Vancouver.

Talented candidates are then recruited to come to Calgary and participate in a national development program training camp, where they are introduced to the basics of pushing, sled maintenance and race preparations. Depending on their results, the new athletes might be asked to come back for the National Team Selection races, and potentially qualify for the Canadian Team.

With the support of its valued corporate partners – Karbon, Driving Force and Conceptum Sport Logistics – along with the Government of Canada, Own the Podium and the Canadian Olympic Committee. Bobsleigh CANADA Skeleton develops Olympic and world champions.

À propos de Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton

Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton est l'organisme directeur de toutes les activités se rapportant aux sports de bobsleigh et skeleton au pays. Le Canada a commencé à présenter des athlètes aux compétitions internationales de bobsleigh vers la fin des années 1950. L'ère moderne de participation canadienne aux compétitions de skeleton a débuté en 1986, avec l'ouverture de la piste Olympique, construite pour les Jeux Olympiques d'hiver 1988 au Parc Olympique canadien à Calgary.

Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton présente des équipes aux circuits de Coupe d'Amérique, Coupe Europa, Coupe Intercontinentale et Coupe du Monde, ainsi que le Championnat du Monde et les Jeux Olympiques d'hiver. La saison de compétition de Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton s'amorce sur la sélection d'équipes au mois d'octobre et se termine au mois du mars, avec soit les Championnats du Monde, soit les Jeux Olympiques d'hiver. Durant la saison morte, les athlètes se consacrent à la musculation et au conditionnement physique, et passent pas mal de temps sur la piste de course et sur la piste de poussée.

Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton, conjointement avec les associations provinciales, organise des camps de recrutement dans virtuellement tous les centres urbains majeures à travers le Canada. Les camps d'entraînement réguliers se tiennent dans les villes canadiennes telles que Toronto, Montréal, Ottawa, Calgary et Vancouver.

Les candidats qui font preuve d'une aptitude pour le sport sont recrutés pour venir à Calgary et participer à un camp d'entraînement de développement national, où ils apprennent les éléments de base de la poussée, du maintien du traîneau et des préparations à la compétition. En fonction de leurs résultats, les nouveaux athlètes pourraient être invités à retourner afin de participer aux Essais de sélection à l'équipe nationale et éventuellement, se qualifier à l'équipe canadienne.

Avec le généreux soutien de ses partenaires commerciaux – Karbon, Driving Force, Calgary Stampede, Conceptum Sport Logistics, et Joe Rocket Canada – ainsi que le Gouvernement du Canada, À Nous le Podium et le Comité olympique canadien, Bobsleigh CANADA Skeleton forme et encourage des champions et championnes mondiaux et olympiques.