2018 Olympics
Days
78
Hours
2
Mins
29
Secs
59

Paul Fraser

Sport:Skeleton
Height:175cm
Weight:81kg
Birth Date:May. 18, 1972 (age 45)
Birth Place:Saskatoon
Residence:Calgary
Twitter:@paulyfraser

Paul attended the University of Calgary  until 2005. During his time as a student, he was also a member of the University of Calgary track team, which was where he was introduced to skeleton for the first time. One year after graduating, the 2006 Olympic Winter Games were upon us, where Canadians Duff Gibson, Jeff Pain, and Mellisa Hollingsworth all won medals for Canada, in the sport of skeleton. This was a major inspiration for for Paul, and it was all the incentive he needed to pursue this mainly unfamiliar sport. He imediately contacted Skeleton Canada, and attended their physical testing camp that spring. After a successful camp, the rest is history.

Paul completed all his schooling in Calgary, attending Sherwood, Banting and Best, Ian Bazelgette, Western Canada High, and the University of Calgary. Upon completion of his schooling in 2005, Paul finished with a degree in biochemistry and a minor in psychology.

Paul is an avid sportsman. He spent much of his childhood playing street and ice hockey, but branched into many other sports along the way, including tennis, volleyball, football, track, and most recently, disc golf, to name a few.

Paul is the oldest competitor in the world, at the top tier international levels of skeleton. Despite his age, Paul continues to deliver elite level physical testing numbers, which help him continue to earn his spot on Canada's national skeleton team and puts him in the running of representing Canada at the 2018 Olympic Winter Games.

Career Highlights

  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Whistler, CAN: 3, 3
  • 2013 – Europa Cup, Altenberg, GER: 2
  • 2012 – Europa Cup, Igls, AUT: 3, 2
  • 2011 – America’s Cup Park City, USA: 1, 1
  • 2011 – America’s Cup, Calgary, CAN: 2, 2
  • 2010 – Europa Cup, Igls, AUT: 1, 2
  • 2010 – Europa Cup, Winterberg, GER: 3

Intercontinental Cup Results

  • 2017 – Intercontinental Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 14, 20
  • 2017 – Intercontinental Cup, Calgary, CAN: 15, 12
  • 2016 – Intercontinental Cup, Igls, AUT: 11, 15
  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 12, 12
  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Whistler, CAN: 14, 5
  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Whistler, CAN: 3, 3
  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Calgary, CAN: 12, 7
  • 2014 – Intercontinental Cup, Lillehammer, NOR: 7
  • 2014 – Intercontinental Cup, Konigssee, GER: 15, 17
  • 2014 – Intercontinental Cup, Winterberg, GER: 13

Paul Fraser

Sport:Skeleton
Taille:175cm
Poids:81kg
Date de naissance:18 mai., 1972 (Âge 46)
Ville natale:Saskatoon
Résidence:Calgary
Twitter:@paulyfraser

Paul a terminé ses études à l’Université de Calgary en 2005. Sprinteur sur l’équipe universitaire d’athlétisme, Paul a été abordé par un entraineur de bobsleigh-skeleton qui l’a encouragé à essayer les sport de glisse. En 2006, juste après qu’il avait complété son diplôme, les Jeux Olympiques d’hiver se sont tenus, et les Canadiens Duff Gibson, Jeff Pain et Mellisa Hollingsworth sont tous montés au podium olympique de skeleton. Pour Paul, c’était le moment charnière pour le pousser à passer à l’acte. Il a contacté Skeleton Canada et a assisté à un camp d’évaluation pour le skeleton ce printemps-là et tout s’est très bien passé. Il est devenu skeletoneur.

Paul a complété toutes ses études à Calgary, aux écoles Sherwood, Banting and Best, Ian Bazelgette, Western Canada High, puis l’Université de Calgary. À la complétion de ses études en 2005, Paul en est sorti avec un diplôme en biochimie avec mineure en psychologie.

Paul est un vrai sportif. Il a passé une grande partie de son enfance à jouer au hockey de rue et hockey sur glace, mais il a pratiqué beaucoup d’autres sports aussi : tennis, volleyball, football et athlétisme, pour en nommer quelques-uns.

Paul est le plus âgé de tous les compétiteurs au monde au niveau international. Mais son âge n’est aucunement un handicap, puisqu’il continue à obtenir des résultats de niveau élite aux essais physiques. Cela lui a valu une place sur l’équipe nationale, en circuit international, et il est également dans la course à la sélection en équipe canadienne des Jeux Olympiques d’hiver 2018.

Meilleurs en carrière

  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Whistler, CAN: 3, 3
  • 2013 – Europa Cup, Altenberg, GER: 2
  • 2012 – Europa Cup, Igls, AUT: 3, 2
  • 2011 – America’s Cup Park City, USA: 1, 1
  • 2011 – America’s Cup, Calgary, CAN: 2, 2
  • 2010 – Europa Cup, Igls, AUT: 1, 2
  • 2010 – Europa Cup, Winterberg, GER: 3

Résultats de Coupe Intercontinentale

  • 2017 – Intercontinental Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 14, 20
  • 2017 – Intercontinental Cup, Calgary, CAN: 15, 12
  • 2016 – Intercontinental Cup, Igls, AUT: 11, 15
  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 12, 12
  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Whistler, CAN: 14, 5
  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Whistler, CAN: 3, 3
  • 2015 – Intercontinental Cup, Calgary, CAN: 12, 7
  • 2014 – Intercontinental Cup, Lillehammer, NOR: 7
  • 2014 – Intercontinental Cup, Konigssee, GER: 15, 17
  • 2014 – Intercontinental Cup, Winterberg, GER: 13