Mark Mlakar

Sport:Bobsleigh
Position:Brakeman
Birth Date:Apr. 19, 1991 (age 29)
Birth Place:Toronto
Residence:Mississauga, Ont.
Instagram:@markmlakar

Mark entered the sport of bobsleigh in 2019 for the second time in his sporting career, and is being sure to make it count. For the first time in his career, he earned a spot on Canada’s Senior Bobsleigh Team.

He originally got into the sport six years ago where he was sliding with the Development squad, but broke his leg at the top of the track. Thoughts of that first run down the track has him coming back to continue his pursuit of excellence.

After stepping away from competition for several years, Mark participated in a recruitment combine in 2018 as a self evaluation tool. Eager to return to the sport after reinvigorated training, he jumped at the opportunity of the prospects camp in Calgary the following year and has worked his way up to the World Cup squad

An active childhood, Mark played hockey and soccer growing up. He played a wide array of sports in highschool, including track and football. He now thrives on being in the gym and lifting heavy weights
 
Mark graduated from the University of Guelph with a political science major, and then secured his real estate licence after attending Real Estate College in Ontario.

Did You Know…

Mark loves playing strategy games.

Career Highlights

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2019/20 North American Cup, Lake Placid, USA:  (4man) x3   (2man)  
2019/20 North American Cup, Park City, USA:

 (4man) x3

 (2man)

     

World Championship Results

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
Altenberg, GER 4man 10th Spring, Mlakar, Evelyn, Patrician

World Cup Results

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
       
  Igls, AUT 4man 16th Spring, Mlakar, Evelyn, Patrician
  Konigssee, GER 4man 10th Spring, Mlakar, Evelyn, Patrician
  St Moritz, SUI 4man 11th Spring, Mlakar, Evelyn, Murray-Lawrence

Mark Mlakar

Sport:Bobsleigh
Poste:Brakeman
Date de naissance:19 avr., 1991 (Âge 29)
Ville natale:Toronto
Résidence:Mississauga, Ont.
Instagram:@markmlakar

En 2019, Mark a fait un nouveau départ dans le sport de bobsleigh, et cette fois-ci il compte laisser sa marque. Pour la première fois dans sa carrière, il a décroché un poste au sein de l’équipe sénior de bobsleigh.

Il s’est lancé dans le sport initialement il y a six ans, en tant que membre de l’équipe de développement, mais il s’est cassé la jambe en haut de la piste. Il se souvient de cet accident survenu lors de sa première descente et il est d’autant plus déterminé à continuer sa poursuite de l’excellence.

Après s’être absenté du sport pendant plusieurs années, il a participé à un camp de recrutement en 2018 pour se donner une idée d’où il en était. Il a poursuivi des entraînements très prometteurs et cela a ranimé la flamme de la compétition en lui. L’année suivante, il a été invité au camp de prospects à Calgary, et par la suite il a gravi les échelons pour devenir membre de l’équipe de Coupe du monde.

Enfant actif, Mark s’adonnait au hockey et au soccer initialement. Plus tard, il pratiquait bon nombre de sports à l’école secondaire, notamment le football et la course à pied. Présentement, il aime aller au gymnase et faire des poids…plus lourds ils sont, mieux il aime!

Mark est diplômé de l’Université de Guelph avec une majeure en sciences politiques. Il a obtenu son permis de vente d’immeubles de l’Ontario Real Estate College.

Le saviez-vous? …

Mark aime jouer les jeux de stratégie.

Meilleurs en carrière

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2019/20 North American Cup, Lake Placid, USA:  (4man) x3   (2man)  
2019/20 North American Cup, Park City, USA:

 (4man) x3

 (2man)

     

Résultats de Coupe du Monde

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
       
  St Moritz, SUI 4man 11th Spring, Mlakar, Evelyn, Murray-Lawrence