Christine De Bruin

Sport:Bobsleigh
Position:Pilot
Height:170cm
Weight:78kg
Birth Date:Mar. 3, 1989 (age 30)
Birth Place:Edmonton
Residence:Stony Plain, Alta.
Hometown:Stony Plain, Alta.
Twitter:@ChristineBushie
Instagram:@christinerdebruin

Christine de Bruin had been representing the University of Alberta in track and field for two years when she decided she was ready to stop competing. After hearing this, her coach convinced her to go to Calgary to try bobsleigh. He told her that her chances to make the national team in track were small, but her chances of going to the Olympics for bobsleigh were great. She soon made the development team as a brakeman, immediately taking a leave from school.

A year and a half in, she was redirected from the path of being a World Cup brakeman to a development pilot. Doubting this decision at first, she got all the confidence she needed when she finished fourth in her first North American Cup race in March 2013, less than two months after she started driving. In November 2015, Christine won three North American Cup races in a row. It was especially satisfying coming off a year when she was hindered by a bulged disc in her back. Christine made her World Cup debut as a pilot in December 2016 in Whistler. She finished a career-best sixth in November 2017 in Lake Placid with Cynthia Appiah.

Her career development into a world-class pilot went to a whole new level in 2018 when she qualified to represent Canada at Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, Korea. Christine teamed up with Melissa Lotholz to an impressive seventh-place finish in their Olympic debut.

Constantly pushing to stronger, faster and a better pilot, Christine accomplished another first in the post-Olympic year where she drove to her first World Cup podium with Kristen Bujnowski. The two Canucks captured the world’s attention again with a silver-medal finish at a World Cup stop in Altenberg.

Christine started competing in bobsleigh at age 22. She has completed two years of a Bachelor of Physical Education and Recreation at the University of Alberta before putting studies on temporary hiatus to pursue bobsleigh. Christine enjoys riding her motorcycle and floating down the Bow River. Her husband, Ivo de Bruin, is the top pilot for the Netherlands. Christines says watching Donovan Bailey win the 100m at Atlanta 1996 inspired her dream to compete for Team Canada. Her favourite quote: “It will cost you nothing to dream and everything not to.” – Rodney White…

Career Highlights

2018 – Olympic Winter Games, PyeongChang, KOR: 7
2019 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 2
2019 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 2
2018 – Europe Cup, Konigssee, GER: 1 (Monobob)
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 9
2017 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 9
2017 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 6
2016 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 8

Olympic Winter Games Results

2018 – Olympic Winter Games, PyeongChang, KOR: 7

World Championship Results

2019 – World Championships, Whistler, CAN: 3(2-woman), 2(team)
2017 – World Championships, Konigssee, GER: 11
2016 – World Championships, Igls, AUT: 16

World Cup Results

2019 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 2
2019 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 10
2019 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 2
2018 – Europe Cup, Konigssee, GER: 1 (Monobob)
2018 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 14
2018 – World Cup, St. Moritz, SUI: 14
2018 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 13
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 9
2017 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 9
2017 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 6
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 11
2016 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 8
2016 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 12

Christine De Bruin

Sport:Bobsleigh
Poste:Pilot
Taille:170cm
Poids:78kg
Date de naissance:03 mar., 1989 (Âge 30)
Ville natale:Edmonton
Résidence:Stony Plain, Alta.
Ville natale:Stony Plain, Alta.
Twitter:@ChristineBushie
Instagram:@christinerdebruin

Christine de Bruin a représenté l’Université de l’Alberta pendant deux ans en athlétisme puis elle a pris la décision de quitter cette discipline. Son entraîneur l’a convaincue à se rendre à Calgary pour essayer le bobsleigh. Il lui a dit franchement qu’elle avait peu de chances de se qualifier à l’équipe nationale d’athlétisme, mais par contre les chances étaient très bonnes qu’elle représente son pays en bobsleigh aux Jeux Olympiques. Vite fait, elle s’est payé un poste de freineuse au sein de l’équipe de développement, et elle a pris un congé de ses études universitaires pour voir où ce détour l’amènerait.

Dix-huit mois plus tard, elle a changé de casquette, abandonnant le poste de freineuse pour se lancer comme pilote avec l’équipe de développement. Initialement, elle était talonnée par le doute, mais elle a reçu une grande validation quand elle s’est classée quatrième à sa première épreuve de Coupe nord-américaine en mars 2013, moins de deux mois après avoir fait le saut au poste de pilote. En novembre, 2015, Christine a signé trois victoires d’affilée en Coupe nord-américaine. C’était d’autant plus satisfaisant qu’elle était justement de retour d’un congé d’un an, à la suite d’une hernie discale. Christine a fait son début de pilote de Coupe du monde en décembre 2016 à Whistler. En novembre 2017 elle a obtenu sixième place à Lake Placid avec Cynthia Appiah au frein.

Son développement en pilote de premier rang a franchi un jalon important en 2018 quand elle s’est qualifiée à représenter le Canada aux Jeux Olympiques d’hiver à PyeongChang, Corée du Sud. Christine y a fait équipage avec Melissa Lotholz et les deux ont obtenu un résultat remarquable de septième place à leur début olympique. 

Cherchant toujours à repousser les limites et à devenir plus forte, plus rapide et meilleure pilote, Christine a fait un autre grand pas en avant en saison post-olympique 2018-19, récoltant ses deux premiers podiums de Coupe du monde avec Kristen Bujnowski au frein. Les deux Canadiennes ont attiré l’attention du monde entier par leur médaille d’argent à Altenberg et encore à Lake Placid, avant de s’accrocher à leur première médaille de Championnat du monde, une bronze, à Whistler.  < /p>

Christine a débuté comme compétitrice de bobsleigh à l’âge de 22 ans. Elle avait complété deux années d’études dans un diplôme d’éducation physique et de récréation à l’Université de l’Alberta avant de faire pause temporaire pour poursuivre ses rêves en bobsleigh. Dans son temps libre, Christine aime faire des sorties à motocyclette ou bien flotter le long de la rivière Bow. Son époux Ivo de Bruin est le meilleur pilote de l’équipe néerlandaise. Christine dit que c’était en regardant Donovan Bailey remporter le sprint de 100m aux Jeux d’Atlanta 1996 qu’elle a premièrement ressenti le désir de concourir au sein d’Équipe Canada un jour. Sa citation favorite vient de Rodney White : « Cela ne vous coûte rien de rêver. Mais ça peut vous coûter énormément de ne pas rêver. »

Meilleurs en carrière

2019 – World Championships, Whistler, CAN: 3 
2019 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 2
2019 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 2
2018 – Olympic Winter Games, PyeongChang, KOR: 7
2018 – Europe Cup, Konigssee, GER: 1 (Monobob)
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 9
2017 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 9
2017 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 6
2016 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 8

Résultats de Jeux Olympiques d’hiver

2018 – Olympic Winter Games, PyeongChang, KOR: 7

Résultats de Championnat du Monde

2019 – World Championships, Whistler, CAN: 3(2-woman), 2(team)
2017 – World Championships, Konigssee, GER: 11
2016 – World Championships, Igls, AUT: 16

Résultats de Coupe du Monde

2019 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 2
2019 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 10
2019 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 2
2018 – Europe Cup, Konigssee, GER: 1 (Monobob)
2018 – World Cup, Konigssee, GER: 14
2018 – World Cup, St. Moritz, SUI: 14
2018 – World Cup, Altenberg, GER: 13
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 9
2017 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 9
2017 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 6
2017 – World Cup, Igls, AUT: 11
2016 – World Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 8
2016 – World Cup, Whistler, CAN: 12