Dawn Richardson Wilson

Sport:Bobsleigh
Position:Brakeman
Birth Date:Sep. 26, 1999 (age 22)
Birth Place:Accra, GHA
Residence:Edmonton, AB
Instagram:@Just_dawn98
Facebook:Dawn Richardson Wilson

Dawn’s journey into bobsleigh all began when she was having a conversation with her lifelong friend, Dean Walls, who just happens to be her mentor, as well as her high school basketball coach. 

He drew her attention to an open recruitment camp for bobsleigh that was taking place in Edmonton. Immediately, Dawn began training with her strength and conditioning coach, Alex Tonsi, who had been helping her since Grade 10 when she first started Olympic weightlifting.

Dawn comes from a variety of sport backgrounds: rugby, track and field, ultimate frisbee; but bobsleigh is a completely new direction for her. To her surprise, it actually had very similar properties to other sports that she immediately fell in love with – team work, strength training, technicality and speed. 

Nervous heading into her first camp, the rest is history. Dawn is well on her way to chasing her Olympic dreams in bobsleigh. After earning the opportunity to compete in two World Cup races last season, Dawn also secured a spot on the Senior Bobsleigh Team for the 2020-21 season. 

While her focus is on sport, she is currently working towards a degree in Sociology (major) with a criminology stream and a psychology minor. Her ultimate goal when her sporting days are behind her is to be a part of the RCMP. She has never wavered from that goal.

Outside of sport, Dawn loves to stay very active during the summer months. She takes part in ultimate frisbee alongside her team “The Undiscovered” (pun- intended) which is one of the many highlights of her summer. She also tries to spend as much of my time outdoors because when you’re from a place that winter is not your main season you treasure the sun. She loves to cook, which is also a creative outlet for her. 

Did You Know…

Dawn’s heroes in life are her family and friends that each share a special trait and characteristic that she not only admires but looks up to. They help her to grow and be a better version of herself. They are not scared to be upright and honest with her. Dawn considers herself the ultimate board game supplier. She enjoys working with her hands – be it cooking or building a bench or a birdhouse from scratch.

Career Highlights

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2019/20 - World Cup, Lake Placid, USA:        5th 2woman
2019/2020 - World Cup Igls, AUT:        10th  2woman 
2019/20 - North American Cup, Lake Placid:       
Finished First Place Overall in 2019 North America’s Cup

2woman

     
2019 – North America’s Cup, Whistler, CAN       6th 2woman
2019 – North America’s Cup, Calgary, CAN 2woman 2woman    
2018 – North America’s Cup, Park City, USA       6th 2woman
2018 – North America’s Cup, Lake Placid, USA      2woman 5th 2woman

World Championship Results

Brakewoman

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
Altenberg, GER 2woman 12th Rissling, Richardson Wilson
 
       

 

World Cup Results

Brakewoman

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
       
  Igls, AUT  2woman  4th  Appiah, Richardson Wilson
  Konigssee, GER 2woman 8th Rissling, Richardson Wilson 
  St Moritz, SUI  2woman  11th Rissling, Richardson Wilson 
2019/20
       
 
Igls, AUT 2woman 10th Appiah, Richardson Wilson
  Lake Placid, USA 2woman 5th De Bruin, Richardson Wilson

Dawn Richardson Wilson

Sport:Bobsleigh
Poste:Brakeman
Date de naissance:26 sep., 1999 (Âge 21)
Ville natale:Accra, GHA
Résidence:Edmonton, AB
Instagram:@Just_dawn98
Facebook:Dawn Richardson Wilson

Dawn a pris conscience du bobsleigh lors d’une conversation avec un ami de longue date, et une personne qu’elle qualifie de mentor : son entraîneur de basketball au lycée, Dean Walls.

Dean lui a signalé un camp de recrutement en bobsleigh, ouvert à tous, qui allait se tenir à Edmonton. Immédiatement, Dawn s’est mise à s’entraîner avec son entraîneur du conditionnement physique, Alex Tonsi, qui travaille avec elle depuis la 10ème année au secondaire, lorsqu’elle avait commencé à pratiquer l’haltérophilie.

Dawn a participé à bon nombre de sports : le rugby, l’athlétisme et le disque volant extrême. Mais le bobsleigh était un terrain complètement inconnu. À sa grande surprise, ce sport présentait pas mal de parallèles avec les autres sports qu’elle aimait : le travail d’équipe, le conditionnement physique, les aspects techniques et la vitesse.

Elle a été anxieuse pour aborder son premier camp, mais elle s’est très bien débrouillée. Dawn est bien partie dans sa quête de ses rêves olympiques en bobsleigh. La saison dernière, et s’est mérité le droit de concourir à deux épreuves de Coupe du monde. Cette année, elle a été sélectionnée à l’équipe sénior de bobsleigh pour la saison 2020-21.

Tout en se concentrant sur le sport, elle est en train de compléter un diplôme de sociologie (majeure) se spécialisant en criminologie, avec mineure en psychologie. Au terme de sa carrière d’athlète, elle veut devenir policière avec la Gendarmerie royale du Canada. C’est un objectif qu’elle a fixé il y a très longtemps, et elle reste inébranlable dans son désir de réaliser ce but.

À part le sport, Dawn aime rester active durant les mois d’été. Elle pratique le disque volant extrême avec son équipe “The Undiscovered” (oui, c’est un jeu de mots); c’est une de ses activités favorites en été. Elle aime passer autant de temps que possible dans la grande nature, puisque quand on vient d’un endroit au monde où l’hiver se fait rare, on apprécie d’autant le soleil. Elle aime cuisiner : elle peut alors donner libre cours à sa créativité.

Le saviez-vous? …

Les héros de Dawn sont sa famille et ses proches; chacune de ces personnes a une caractéristique spéciale qu’elle admire et qui l’inspire. Ces personnes l’encouragent à repousser ses limites. Elles n’ont pas peur de lui dire franchement ce qu’elles pensent. Dawn est une vraie fana des jeux de société. Elle aime cuisiner et bricoler, assemblant des bancs ou des nichoirs à partir de quelques morceaux de bois.

Meilleurs en carrière

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2019/20 - World Cup, Lake Placid, USA:        5th 2woman
2019/2020 - World Cup Igls, AUT:        10th  2woman 
2019/20 - North American Cup, Lake Placid:       
Finished First Place Overall in 2019 North America’s Cup

2woman

     
2019 – North America’s Cup, Whistler, CAN       6th 2woman
2019 – North America’s Cup, Calgary, CAN 2woman 2woman    
2018 – North America’s Cup, Park City, USA       6th 2woman
2018 – North America’s Cup, Lake Placid, USA      2woman 5th 2woman

Résultats de Championnat du Monde

Brakewoman

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
Altenberg, GER 2woman 12th Rissling, Richardson Wilson
 
       

 

Résultats de Coupe du Monde

Brakewoman

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
       
  Igls, AUT  2woman  4th  Appiah, Richardson Wilson
  Konigssee, GER 2woman 8th Rissling, Richardson Wilson 
  St Moritz, SUI  2woman  11th Rissling, Richardson Wilson 
2019/20
       
 
Igls, AUT 2woman 10th Appiah, Richardson Wilson
  Lake Placid, USA 2woman 5th De Bruin, Richardson Wilson