2022 Olympics
Days
63
Hours
15
Mins
21
Secs
40

Sara Villani

Sport:Bobsleigh
Position:Brakeman
Birth Date:Sep. 19, 1996 (age 25)
Twitter:@likeavillain13
Instagram:@likeavillain
Facebook:likeavilllain13
Website:saravillani.com

The drive for Sara to be an athlete started back in her gymnastics days as a young child. She knew early on she would not be able to continue that sport, but was keen to find her next passion. In came track and field. Sara found success in her early high school track and field career, which inspired her to continue to pursue the sport at a university level.  

In her first year of multi-event training at Western University, Sara won the 2015 Junior National Championships in the heptathlon, which qualified her to represent Canada at the 2015 Junior Pan Am Games held in Edmonton. In her second year, while competing in the pentathlon at the Provincial University Championships (OUAs), she miscalculated a step in one of her long jump warm-ups and would later be diagnosed with a bone bruise in her ankle. Sara ended up with gold and was ranked first going into the Canadian University Championships (CIS, now USports), but the pain in her ankle was high. At CIS, she got to the second event, high jump, and it was evident she would not be able to continue the competition…She had DNF next to her name. 

After this experience, Sara became very unsure of her next steps. After a lot of back and forth, she decided that she would specialize in the throws. In 2019, she found herself standing on the podium in second place at the USports Championships in shot put.  

In 2018, Sara attended an RBC Training Ground event where participants are put through various fitness tests such as a broad jump, vertical jump test, 30m sprint, etc. Sara ended up winning a few of the individual events and the overall for the women. It was here where she was recruited to a number of different sports including bobsleigh.  

In December of 2018, Sara had her first experience in a bobsled in Calgary. She had no clue what to expect…She had seen it on TV, but “you don’t know what you don’t know”. Her first run down the track ended in a crash! Luckily, that did not scare her off and she finished the week. She came back home to Ontario and knew that she was going to become a bobsledder.  

In October of 2019, she was announced to the Team Canada Development team, and has progressed nicely. Now in just her second year in the sport she has earned a spot on the Senior Bobsleigh Team, and now has her eyes locked on the ultimate goal of winning gold at the 2022 Olympic Winter Games.  

Did You Know…

Sara has never eaten a Twinkie. She currently has three adopted pets (two cats, one dog). Sara has an honours double major in psychology and thanatology. She played trumpet for four years in middle school and high school.

Career Highlights

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2020 – North American Cup, Lake Placid, USA    

 

6th 2woman
2019 – North American Cup, Park City, USA

 

 

 2woman

 2woman

 2woman

 
2019 – North American Cup, Lake Placid, USA      

6th 2woman 

9th 2woman 

Track and Field/Athlétisme

2018-2019
– OUA Silver Medalist in Shot Put/Médaillée d’argent OUA en lancer du poids
– USports Silver Medalist in Shot Put/Médaillée d’argent OUA en lancer du poids
– Western University Women’s Shot Put Record Holder/Détient le record féminin en lancer du poids à l’Université Western

2015-2016
– Ontario’s Junior Women’s Top Athlete of the Year Award/Prix d’athlète de l’année de l’Ontario, femmes juniors
– OUA Gold Medalist in the Pentathlon/Médaillée d’or OUA en pentathlon

2014-2015
– OUA Bronze Medalist in the Pentathlon/Médaillée de bronze OUA en pentathlon
– Junior National Champion in the Heptathlon/Championne nationale junior dans l’heptathlon
– Represented Team Canada at the 2015 Junior Pan American Games in Edmonton/Membre d’Équipe Canada aux Jeux panaméricains juniors 2015 à Edmonton

World Championship Results

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
Altenberg, GER 2woman 16th de Bruin, Villani
         

World Cup Results

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2021/22
       
  Igls, AUT 2woman 9th Lotholz, Villani
2020/21
       
  Igls, AUT  2woman  5th Lotholz, Villani 
  Konigssee, GER 2woman 4th de Bruin, Villani 
 
St Moritz, SUI 2woman  8th  de Bruin, Villani 
 
Winterberg, GER 2woman 5th de Bruin, Villani

Sara Villani

Sport:Bobsleigh
Poste:Brakeman
Date de naissance:19 sep., 1996 (Âge 25)
Twitter:@likeavillain13
Instagram:@likeavillain
Facebook:likeavilllain13
Site web:saravillani.com

Sara a toujours été une athlète, depuis ses débuts comme gymnaste. Elle a su assez tôt dans l’expérience que ce sport-là n’était pas pour elle, donc elle a changé de cap pour l’athlétisme. Sara a connu du succès dans une variété de disciplines d’athlétisme au secondaire, et elle a continué de concourir durant ses années à l’université.  

À sa première année à l’Université Western, Sara a remporté la victoire dans l’heptathlon au Championnat national junior de 2015, ce qui l’a qualifiée à représenter le Canada aux Jeux panaméricains juniors 2015 à Edmonton. L’année suivante, lors de concourir au pentathlon au championnat universitaire provincial (OUA), elle a fait une erreur de jugement dans une de ses foulées durant la séance d’échauffement au saut en longueur, et elle a subi un hématome à l’os dans sa cheville. Sara a tout de même remporté l’or et était la tête de série pour aborder le Championnat universitaire canadien (SIC, maintenant appelé USports), mais sa cheville lui faisait mal. Au Championnat CIS, elle a poursuivi jusqu’au deuxième évènement du pentathlon, le saut en hauteur, et elle a dû abandonner. 

Cette expérience a ébranlé sa confiance. En fin de compte, elle a décidé de se concentrer uniquement sur le lancer du poids. Au Championnat USports 2019, elle a gagné la médaille d’argent en lancer du poids.  
En 2018, Sara a participé à une édition du Camp de recrues RBC : à ces évènements, les participants doivent compléter une série d’évaluations d’aptitude physique, comme par exemple les sauts en longueur et les sauts à la verticale, un sprint sur 30m, etc. Sara s’est classée première dans plusieurs tests individuels, et elle a terminé à la tête du classement général des femmes. 

Au terme de cette expérience, elle a été recrutée par plusieurs sports, incluant le bobsleigh.  

En décembre, 2018, Sara est montée dans un traîneau de bobsleigh pour la toute première fois. Elle ne savait aucunement à quoi s’attendre …oui, elle avait regardé ce sport à la télé, mais la courbe d’apprentissage était bien plus abrupte qu’elle avait imaginé. Sa première descente s’est soldée par une collision! Heureusement, cet épisode ne l’a pas découragée, et elle a terminé la semaine d’entraînements en force. Rentrée en Ontario, elle savait qu’elle voulait devenir bobeuse.  

En octobre, 2019, elle a été sélectionnée à l’équipe de développement en bobsleigh, et elle a fait un bon chemin depuis lors. À seulement sa deuxième année dans le sport, elle s’est méritée un poste au sein de l’équipe nationale sénior, et elle a déjà les Jeux olympiques d’hiver 2022 dans sa visée.  

Le saviez-vous…

Sara n’a jamais mangé un gâteau Twinkie. Présentement, son entourage comprend trois animaux de compagnie adoptés (deux chats et un chien). Sara a complété une double majeure en psychologie et thanatologie. Elle a joué de la trompette pendant quatre ans à l’école intermédiaire et au secondaire.

Meilleurs en carrière

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2020 – North American Cup, Lake Placid, USA    

 

6th 2woman
2019 – North American Cup, Park City, USA

 

 

 2woman

 2woman

 2woman

 
2019 – North American Cup, Lake Placid, USA      

6th 2woman 

9th 2woman 

Track and Field/Athlétisme

2018-2019
– OUA Silver Medalist in Shot Put/Médaillée d’argent OUA en lancer du poids
– USports Silver Medalist in Shot Put/Médaillée d’argent OUA en lancer du poids
– Western University Women’s Shot Put Record Holder/Détient le record féminin en lancer du poids à l’Université Western

2015-2016
– Ontario’s Junior Women’s Top Athlete of the Year Award/Prix d’athlète de l’année de l’Ontario, femmes juniors
– OUA Gold Medalist in the Pentathlon/Médaillée d’or OUA en pentathlon

2014-2015
– OUA Bronze Medalist in the Pentathlon/Médaillée de bronze OUA en pentathlon
– Junior National Champion in the Heptathlon/Championne nationale junior dans l’heptathlon
– Represented Team Canada at the 2015 Junior Pan American Games in Edmonton/Membre d’Équipe Canada aux Jeux panaméricains juniors 2015 à Edmonton

Résultats de Championnat du Monde

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
Altenberg, GER 2woman 16th de Bruin, Villani
         

Résultats de Coupe du Monde

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
       
  Igls, AUT  2woman  5th Lotholz, Villani 
  Konigssee, GER 2woman 4th de Bruin, Villani 
 
St Moritz, SUI 2woman  8th  de Bruin, Villani 
 
Winterberg, GER 2woman 5th de Bruin, Villani