Stephanie Drost

Sport:Bobsleigh
Position:Brakeman
Birth Date:Apr. 27, 1993 (age 27)
Birth Place:Thunder Bay, Ont.
Residence:Thunder Bay, Ont.
Instagram:@stephdrost

Moms know best. That is the case for Stephanie Drost as well as it was her mom who put the idea in her head to give bobsleigh a try. With her mom’s suggestion continually in the back of her head as she missed competitive sports, the firefighter in her hometown of Thunder Bay trained more specifically for a year and then put her fitness to the test at a National Camp in Calgary in October 2020.  

The training paid off. Stephanie became a member of the National Development Bobsleigh Team. 

Her track to bobsleigh was a windy one, yet impressive. Originally a competitive cross-country skier until an elbow injury cut her career on skinny skis short, Stephanie pursued firefighting. She has been working at Thunder Bay Fire and Rescue since 2016.  In search of fulfilling her competitive mojo, Stephanie competed in Crossfit prior to bobsleigh.

When not training, Stephanie enjoys spending as much time as possible with her golden retriever who is arguably the most well-traveled dog in Canada. She is happiest outside canoeing, hiking, working out and fishing.  

Did You Know…

Stephanie has broken most bones in the upper half of her body. She has an ear piercing whistle that is good for calling dogs in the neighbourhood, and of course hailing over a taxi when needed.  

Career Highlights

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2021 - Europe Cup, Igls, AUT        7th 2woman
2021 - Europe Cup, Altenberg, GER       6th 2woman

Stephanie Drost

Sport:Bobsleigh
Poste:Brakeman
Date de naissance:27 avr., 1993 (Âge 28)
Ville natale:Thunder Bay, Ont.
Résidence:Thunder Bay, Ont.
Instagram:@stephdrost

La mère est la meilleure juge : ce dicton est certainement vrai pour Stephanie Drost, étant donné que ce fut sa maman qui l’a encouragée à essayer le bobsleigh. L’idée a germé assez lentement : les sports de compétition lui manquaient, cependant elle travaillait comme pompière à Thunder Bay, donc elle a décidé de faire des séances de mise en forme ciblée pendant une année avant de se faire évaluer lors d’un camp national tenu à Calgary en octobre 2020.  

Les entraînements ont rapporté : Stephanie a été sélectionnée à l’équipe nationale de développement en bobsleigh. 

Elle a suivi un chemin sinueux pour parvenir au bobsleigh. Son premier amour a été le ski de fond, mais elle a dû laisser tomber ce sport à la suite d’une blessure au coude. Stephanie s’est consacrée alors à la formation de pompière. Elle travaille pour Thunder Bay Fire and Rescue depuis 2016.  Aux années récentes, elle a participé à plusieurs compétitions de CrossFit.

Quand elle ne s’entraîne pas, Stephanie aime passer son temps en compagnie de son Golden Retriever que l’on peut raisonnablement qualifier de chien qui a cumulé le plus de kilomètres de route au Canada. Elle se plaît à faire des sorties en canot ou des randonnées à pied; elle aime faire la pêche ou faire des séances de mise en forme.  

Le saviez-vous …

À un moment ou un autre, Stephanie s’est cassé presque tous les os dans la partie supérieure de son corps. Elle sait siffler très fort, et tous les chiens dans le voisinage viennent à pas de course – ça marche bien pour les taxis aussi!  

Meilleurs en carrière

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2021 - Europe Cup, Igls, AUT        7th 2woman
2021 - Europe Cup, Altenberg, GER       6th 2woman