Eden Wilson

Sport:Bobsleigh
Position:Brakeman
Birth Date:Feb. 11, 1997 (age 24)
Birth Place:Brandon, Man
Residence:Calgary
Instagram:@edenwilson
Website:ewilson.com

As a rookie in the National Bobsleigh Program, Eden is looking to make her mark on the international racing scene and create a list of career highlights.

Eden’s entry into bobsleigh is unique to say the least. She doesn’t come from a traditional sporting background like many of the other athletes in the national program, however, she spent two decades in competitive show jumping. 

Eden got into the sport after attending a provincial level ‘learn to push’ session and was immediately hooked by the energy and vibrancy the sport offers. She went on to enlist the coaching of track and field Olympian, Jessica Zelinka, over the summer months in preparation for the 2020 Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton Testing Camp. The work in the gym paid off and is now ready for her first season on the national squad.

Eden has a bachelors degree in Health and Physical Education. She hopes to complete a masters degree before the age of 25 – just for fun. Eden unapologetically shows up in the world as a women, athlete, energy giver and space holder. She brings her signature smile and lightheartedness to everything she does in hopes of bringing a little bit of light to every path she crosses. 

As a biracial female of aboriginal decent, Eden is no stranger to overcoming adversity. She hopes to be able to blaze a trail for more diversity and inclusivity in bobsleigh. 

Outside of bobsleigh, Eden enjoys spending time with her horses and binging on comedies.

Did You Know…

Eden’s party trick is perfecting her ‘Irish Good-bye.’

Eden Wilson

Sport:Bobsleigh
Poste:Brakeman
Date de naissance:11 fév., 1997 (Âge 24)
Ville natale:Brandon, Man
Résidence:Calgary
Instagram:@edenwilson
Site web:ewilson.com

Nouvelle recrue au programme national de bobsleigh, Eden compte laisser sa marque aux circuits internationaux, et cumuler une feuille de route impressionnante.

Eden est arrivée dans le bobsleigh en suivant un chemin assez inédit. À la différence de bon nombre de ses coéquipières et coéquipiers du programme national, elle n’a pas d’antécédents dans l’athlétisme ou les sports d’équipe, mais elle a passé deux décennies à concourir en saut d’obstacles à un très haut niveau. 

Eden est donc parvenue dans le programme de bobsleigh après avoir participé à un programme provincial d’initiation à la poussée. Elle s’est éprise de l’énergie et du dynamisme du sport. Durant l’été 2020, elle a engagé les services de l’Olympienne en athlétisme, Jessica Zelinka, en vue de se préparer au camp d’évaluation 2020 de Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton. Les longues heures au gymnase ont rapporté, et Eden amorce sa première saison comme membre de la sélection nationale.

Eden a un diplôme en éducation physique et à la santé. Elle espère compléter sa maîtrise avant son 25ème anniversaire – juste pour s’amuser. Eden assume pleinement son identité de femme, d’athlète, de source d’énergie positive, et de membre de l’équipe. Elle est connue pour le grand sourire qu’elle apporte à tout ce qu’elle fait, et son souci d’apporter un peu de positif à la vie de chaque personne qu’elle croise. 

Femme biraciale d’ascendance autochtone, Eden s’y connaît un peu en fait de surmonter les obstacles. Elle espère frayer la voie en vue d’apporter plus de diversité et d’inclusion dans le sport de bobsleigh. 

À part le bobsleigh, Eden se plaît à passer du temps avec ses chevaux et à regarder les comédies à la télévision.

Le saviez-vous…

Eden est reconnue pour son talent à s’éloigner discrètement