Erica Voss

Sport:Bobsleigh
Position:Brakeman
Birth Date:Jul. 8, 1996 (age 24)

The spark to Erica’s Olympic dream was ignited at her first track meet when she was seven years old. By the time she was 12, she knew she wanted to be an Olympian after watching the 2008 Olympic Summer Games in Bejing. But she thought that dream would be found in track and field.

Erica trained as a sprinter, then a long and triple jump athlete, but fell in love with ringette. Recognizing ringette is not an Olympic sport, she thought her dream of competing in the Games would end there.

However, things were reignited in 2018 when she attended an RBC Training Ground. Shortly after, she was at the Ontario Final and then received an invitation to attend a Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton Testing Camp in Toronto, and is now racing her way down icy chutes around the world.

Erica has always been a gifted athlete. In her 18 year ringette career, she attended Ontario Winter Games, Canadian Ringette Championships and was twice named National Ringette League defenseman of the year.

In 2019, Erica graduated from the University of Toronto with an honours degree in Mechanical Engineering. She is currently working as an energy analyst for a consulting company that focuses on energy management for commercial real estate properties.

When not training or working, Erica enjoys painting and drawing. She still tries to help coach her sisters ringette team when time allows.

Did You Know…

Her first time down a bobsleigh track was at a pilot school in Calgary. She was the first sled off with Sara Villani in the back, and they crashed. They both got back in that week and is proud to continue telling the story while chasing her Olympic dreams to this day.

World Championship Results

Brakewoman

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21 
Altenberg, GER 2woman 9th Appiah, Voss
 
       

 

World Cup Results

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21
       
  Igls, AUT  2woman  11th Rissling, Voss 
  Konigssee, GER 2woman 15th Lotholz, Voss

Erica Voss

Sport:Bobsleigh
Poste:Pilot
Date de naissance:08 jui., 1996 (Âge 26)
Ville natale:Calgary, AB
Résidence:Toronto, ON
Twitter:@ericavoss19
Instagram:@ericaavoss

Le rêve olympique d’Erica remonte à sa première compétition d’athlétisme : elle avait alors sept ans. À l’âge de 12 ans, en regardant les Jeux olympiques d’été à Pékin, elle savait qu’elle voulait devenir Olympienne. Mais pendant des années, elle pensait que ce rêve allait se réaliser dans l’athlétisme.

Erica a concouru aux sprints puis au saut en longueur et au triple saut. Par la suite, elle s’est éprise de la ringuette. Sachant que ce sport ne figurait pas au programme olympique, elle se demandait si son rêve ne se réaliserait pas.

Mais en 2018, elle a participé à un Camp de recrues RBC. Peu après, elle a accédé à la finale provinciale de l’Ontario, et Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton l’a invitée à prendre part à un camp d’évaluation à Toronto. Le vieux rêve s’est renouvelé.

Et le rêve s’est réalisé. Erica a été nommée remplaçante sur l’équipe canadienne de bobsleigh des Jeux olympiques d’hiver 2022 à Pékin, en Chine. Présentement, elle divise son temps entre deux rôles, celui de freineuse avec l’équipe canadienne senior, et celui de pilote au programme de développement.

Erica a toujours été une athlète douée. Durant ses 18 ans en ringuette, elle a participé aux Jeux d’hiver de l’Ontario et au Championnat canadien de ringuette. Elle a été nommée à deux reprises défenseuse de l’année de la Ligue nationale de ringuette.

En 2019, Erica a obtenu son diplôme de génie mécanique de l’Université de Toronto. Elle travaille actuellement comme analyste en énergie pour un cabinet de consultants qui se spécialise en gestion d’énergie dans le secteur immobilier commercial.

Quand elle n’est pas sur la piste ou au travail, Erica aime dessiner ou faire de la peinture. Quand le temps le permet, elle aide aux entraînements de l’équipe de ringuette de sa sœur.

Le saviez-vous …

Sa première descente de bobsleigh s’est effectuée lors d’un cours pour pilotes à Calgary. Elle a été la première à l’ordre de départ, avec Sara Villani au frein, et elles ont fait un dérapage. Toutes les deux athlètes sont retournées sur la glace cette même semaine-là, et elles sont fières de raconter cette histoire comme premier chapitre dans le récit de leurs rêves olympiques

Meilleurs en carrière

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2021 - World Championships, Altenberg, GER      

9th 

2021 - World Cup, Igls, AUT      

11th

2021 - World Cup, Konigssee, GER      

15th

2021 - Europe Cup, Altenberg, GER      

Résultats de Championnat du Monde

Brakewoman

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2020/21 
Altenberg, GER 2woman 9th Appiah, Voss
 
       

 

Résultats de Coupe du Monde

Season
Location
Discipline
Result
Crew
2021/22
       
  Igls, AUT  2woman 11th Lothoz, Voss
2020/21
       
  Igls, AUT  2woman  11th Rissling, Voss 
  Konigssee, GER 2woman 15th Lotholz, Voss