2022 Olympics
Days
63
Hours
15
Mins
01
Secs
28

Evan Neufeldt

Sport:Skeleton
Height:175cm
Weight:80kg
Birth Date:Jun. 16, 1987 (age 34)
Birth Place:Saskatoon
Residence:Saskatoon
Twitter:@eaneuf
Website:teamevan.ca

Evan began his skeleton journey in 2011 after a shoulder injury, and subsequent repair forced a break in his University education, and varsity sports career.

Hailing from the prairies, Evan has always loved the mountains, and traveling downhill at speed - first tobogganing and later skiing, then his brother taught him to snowboard! His dad facilitated and encouraged nearly annual ski trips to the Rockies which led him to living and working at Sunshine Village in Banff for one year.

Evan has always been involved in competition, briefly playing piano, and occasional art entrees in early elementary school, then fastball, football, ultimate frisbee, and track and field. Evan loves to run, though he admittedly is not the fastest sprinter. He found himself in the runner's roll: pinch runner and fielder on fastball teams, running back in high school football at Rosthern Junior College (2003,2004), and he was a striker on competitive ultimate frisbee teams (Tommy Douglas Dream Machine - U of S Men's 2007-2009).

Evan got serious about competition while in university track and field. Competing in pentathlon for the University of Saskatchewan from 2008-2010 (60m Hurdles-8.78sec, Long Jump-6.6m Shot put-10.91m High Jump-1.95m, 1000m-2:45min), Evan finished 12th, eighth, and eighth nationally, and came out with two bronze medals from Canada West Championships in Pentathlon and 4x200m relay 2010. In 2009 he was sixth at Canada Summer Games in decathlon. His track and field career was short, but it taught him so much about sport, competition, and friendship.

A torn shoulder from a bad layout at a frisbee game in spring of 2010 was another teacher in sports and life for Evan! After surgery and nine months of rehab, he found himself in Calgary pushing a skeleton sled in the Ice House late summer 2011. No stranger to tobogganing, the Ice House brought Evan back to his childhood in Saskatchewan!

On break from school, and sports, Evan was free to move to Calgary for this unknown world of winter sports. A calculated gamble, an adventure, and what a ride! Evan left his family, friends to begin his first season in skeleton. Evan had ups and downs, learning a new sport at 24 years old! He went back to Saskatchewan for the following summer, and at the beginning of his second season, Evan’s now-wife moved out with him, to begin to establish their second home in Calgary! Things got a little more serious in sport. Evan started training with coach Michael Steen, and began really trying to go faster! He made his debut on the World Cup Team during the 2014-15 season.

Evan has been on a fast development curve with many ups and downs like the technical events of track and field. Much to learn – Evan is focused and excited for the ride!

Career Highlights

 

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2021 - Europe Cup - Winterberg, GER       

12th
7th

2021 - North America's Cup, Whistler, CAN    
2017 - Intercontinental Cup, Calgary, CAN  

 

10th 

2016 – World Championships, Igls, AUT: 

 

    25th
2015 - World Cup, St Moritz, SUI       8th
2015 - World Championships, Winterberg, GER       

23rd

2014 - North America's Cup, Lake Placid, USA      9th
2013 - North America's Cup, Park City, USA       

4th 
5th 

World Championship Results

Season
Location
Discipline,
Result
2015/16
Innsbruck, AUT Men's Skeleton 25th
2014/15
Winterberg, GER Men's Skeleton 23rd

World Cup Results

 

Season
Location
Result
2021/22
   
     
2016/17 
   
  Pyeongchang, KOR  23rd
2015/16
   
  Whistler, CAN  22nd
2014/15
   
 
Sochi, RUS 19th
  Innsbruck, AUT  21st
  St Moritz, SUI 8th
  Koenigssee, GER 19th
  Altenberg, GER  19th

Intercontinental Cup Results

 

Season
Location
Result
2017/18
   
  Altenberg, GER 11th
    14th
  St Moritz, SUI 18th
    27th
  Calgary, CAN 10th
    6th
  Whistler, CAN  10th
    5th
2016/17
   
  Lake Placid, USA  17th 
    16th 
  Calgary, CAN 2nd
    10th
  Koenigssee, GER 6th 
    7th 
  Innsbruck, AUT  9th
    9th
2015/16
   
  Koenigssee, GER 9th
    10th
  Innsbruck, AUT 9th
    8th
  Whistler, CAN 6th
    8th
  Lake Placid, USA  9th
    11th
2014/15
   
  Wintergberg, GER 8th
  Koenigssee, GER 8th
    10th

Olympics 2022
Jours
10
Heures
14
Minutes
58
Secs
57

Evan Neufeldt

Sport:Skeleton
Date de naissance:16 jun., 1987 (Âge 34)
Ville natale:Saskatoon
Résidence:Calgary
Twitter:@eaneuf
Instagram:@evanneufeldt
Site web:teamevan.ca

Evan a amorcé sa carrière de skeleton en 2011 après qu’une blessure d’épaule avait effectivement mis fin à sa carrière d’athlète universitaire. 

Un fils des Prairies, Evan avait toujours un penchant pour les montagnes et les descentes de piste à toute vitesse – en premier sur un toboggan et ensuite sur skis, puis son frère lui a appris la planche à neige. Son père a fait en sorte que la famille visite les Rocheuses une fois par année pour faire du ski, et Evan a même travaillé et vécu à Sunshine Village, Banff, pendant une année.

Evan a une longue histoire de compétition : enfant, il a joué du piano et il a participé à des concours d’art en école élémentaire. Puis les sports ont pris un rôle de premier plan : balle rapide, football, frisbee extrême et athlétisme. Evan se passionne pour la course à pied même si, de son propre aveu, il n’est pas le sprinteur le plus rapide au monde. En conséquence, il prenait souvent les rôles de coureur dans ses autres sports : coureur suppléant et joueur défensif pour l’équipe de balle rapide; porteur de ballon pour l’équipe de football de son école secondaire Rosthern Junior College (2003,2004), et attaquant sur ses équipes compétitives de frisbee extrême (Tommy Douglas Dream Machine -U of S Men's 2007-2009). 

Evan s’est impliqué au programme d’athlétisme universitaire, notamment le pentathlon à l’Université de Saskatchewan entre 2008-2010 (haies 60m – 8,78sec; saut en longueur – 6,6m; lancer du poids – 10,91m; saut en hauteur – 1,95m; 1 000m - 2:45min), Evan s’est classé 12e, 8e et 8e nationalement et en est sorti avec deux médailles de bronze au Championnat de l’Ouest du Canada 2010, au pentathlon et aux relais 4x200m. En 2009 il a terminé au sixième rang au décathlon aux Jeux du Canada d’été. Même si sa carrière d’athlétisme a été relativement court, Evan a beaucoup appris pendant ce temps à propos de la compétition, le sport, et l’amitié. 

Une blessure sérieuse à l’épaule subie dans une partie de frisbee au printemps 2010 a été un tournant pour Evan, dans le sport comme dans la vie. Après une opération et des mois de réadaptation, il se trouvait à Calgary, où il a essayé le skeleton pour la première fois, à la fin de l’été 2011. Un adepte du toboggan, Evan a renoué avec ses beaux souvenirs d’enfance durant ce temps dans les installations Ice House. 

Ayant suspendu ses études et sa carrière sportive, Evan a dû quitter sa famille et ses proches pour entamer sa première saison. Il a connu des hauts et des bas en apprenant un nouveau sport à l’âge de 24 ans. Il est rentré en Saskatchewan l’été suivant, et au début de sa deuxième saison, sa future épouse l’a raccompagné à Calgary, où ils ont établi un deuxième chez-soi! Evan s’est consacré plus sérieusement que jamais au skeleton et, sous l’égide de son nouvel entraineur Michael Steen, il a redoublé ses efforts dans la mission de devenir de plus en plus vite! Il a fait ses débuts en Coupe du Monde durant la saison 2014-15.

Tout comme dans les disciplines techniques de l’athlétisme, Evan suit une trajectoire de développement dynamique et rapide. Il sait qu’il a beaucoup à apprendre, mais il se sait très focalisé, et il apporte une excellente énergie et passion à l’entreprise.

Meilleurs en carrière

 

  Gold Silver Bronze Other
2021 - Europe Cup - Igls, AUT       10th
2021 - Europe Cup - Winterberg, GER       

12th
7th

2021 - North America's Cup, Whistler, CAN    
2021 - First Place Team Selections       
2017 - Intercontinental Cup, Calgary, CAN  

 

10th 

2016 – World Championships, Igls, AUT

 

    25th
2015 - World Cup, St Moritz, SUI       8th
2015 - World Championships, Winterberg, GER       

23rd

2014 - North America's Cup, Lake Placid, USA      9th
2013 - North America's Cup, Park City, USA       

4th 
5th 

Résultats de Championnat du Monde

Season
Location
Discipline,
Result
2015/16
Innsbruck, AUT Men's Skeleton 25th
2014/15
Winterberg, GER Men's Skeleton 23rd

Résultats de Coupe du Monde

 

Season
Location
Result
2021/22
   
  St Moritz, SUI  27th
  Winterberg, GER 28th
  Sigulda, LAT 24th
2016/17 
   
  Pyeongchang, KOR  23rd
2015/16
   
  Whistler, CAN  22nd
2014/15
   
 
Sochi, RUS 19th
  Innsbruck, AUT  21st
  St Moritz, SUI 8th
  Koenigssee, GER 19th
  Altenberg, GER  19th

Résultats de Coupe Intercontinentale

 

Season
Location
Result
2017/18
   
  Altenberg, GER 11th
    14th
  St Moritz, SUI 18th
    27th
  Calgary, CAN 10th
    6th
  Whistler, CAN  10th
    5th
2016/17
   
  Lake Placid, USA  17th 
    16th 
  Calgary, CAN 2nd
    10th
  Koenigssee, GER 6th 
    7th 
  Innsbruck, AUT  9th
    9th
2015/16
   
  Koenigssee, GER 9th
    10th
  Innsbruck, AUT 9th
    8th
  Whistler, CAN 6th
    8th
  Lake Placid, USA  9th
    11th
2014/15
   
  Wintergberg, GER 8th
  Koenigssee, GER 8th
    10th