Grace Dafoe

Sport:Skeleton
Height:172cm
Weight:70kg
Birth Date:Jul. 15, 1993 (age 26)
Birth Place:Calgary
Residence:Calgary
Twitter:@https://twitter.com/gracedafoe
Instagram:@gracedafoe
Facebook:facebook.com/gracedafoe

A born and raised Calgarian, Grace always had a passion for competing on ice. It began with figure skating – a sport she competed in from ages 3-18 – this led her to the Canada Olympic Park. When the ice rink facility opened, Grace knew she had reached her peak in the sport and became interested in the sliding sports after watching the 2010 and 2006 Olympics. 

With competitive juices still flowing, Grace contacted the Alberta Skeleton Association and participated in a “Discover Skeleton” session in 2012. Olympic gold medallist, Jon Montgomery, was a guest instructor. She completed the driving school and 10 months later, despite crashing in nearly every race, Grace was hooked.

Working her way through the development pathway, Grace’s first win came on her home track in 2015 when she won the North America’s Cup race in Calgary. She says standing on the podium, listening to the Canadian anthem, is her favorite sporting memory. Her first trip off the continent for skeleton was with her mom where Grace represented Canada at the Junior World Championships 2016.

Grace’s favourite track is at the birthplace of the sport in St. Moritz, Switzerland. She grew up idolizing Canada’s Olympic medal winning figure skater, Joannie Rochette. She says watching Joannie skate to the Olympic podium days after losing her mom was one of the most resilient performances ever.

If she wasn’t sliding, she would be working full-time and volunteering more in her community. Grace spends a great deal of time working with youth in Calgary associated with KidSport and Fast & Female where she mentors kids in sport, instilling life lessons sport presents for the next generation. Grace also completed an internship with Classroom Champions last year. She also coaches figure skating and is a support coach with Olympic gold skeleton medalist, Duff Gibson’s, program Dark Horse Athletic.

Grace holds a Bachelor of Health & Physical Education with a major in Physical Literacy from Mount Royal University. Committed to the MRU Alumni Community, Grace returns to the school each spring to talk to new graduates about career opportunities and pathways available to them. 

She loves to travel and spend time with friends and family, along with her dog Ivy.

Career Highlights

2019 – Canadian Selection Races, Whistler, CAN: 5
2018 – North America’s Cup: 2nd Overall
2017 – North America’s Cup, Whistler, CAN: 1 
2016 – Junior World Championships, Winterberg, GER: 19
2015 – North America’s Cup: 3rd Overall
2015 – North America’s Cup, Calgary, CAN: 1

Grace Dafoe

Sport:Skeleton
Taille:172cm
Poids:70kg
Date de naissance:15 jui., 1993 (Âge 27)
Ville natale:Calgary
Résidence:Calgary
Twitter:@https://twitter.com/gracedafoe
Instagram:@gracedafoe
Facebook:facebook.com/gracedafoe
Site web:gracedafoe.ca

Née et élevée à Calgary, Grace se passionne depuis toujours pour les compétitions sur glace. Cela a commencé par le patinage artistique – sport dans lequel elle a concouru entre les âges de 3 ans et 18 ans. À ce titre, elle passait beaucoup de temps au Parc olympique canadien. Lorsque le complexe de patinoires a ouvert ses portes, Grace avait atteint le sommet de sa forme comme patineuse, et elle a commencé à s’intéresser aux sports de glisse en regardant les Jeux Olympiques d’hiver de 2006 et 2010. 

Compétitrice invétérée, Grace a pris contact avec l’Alberta Skeleton Association et a pris des dispositions pour participer à une séance de « découverte du sport de skeleton » en 2012. Le médaillé d’or olympique Jon Montgomery y a participé en tant qu’instructeur invité. Grace a complété le cours de pilotage bientôt après, et 10 mois plus tard, en dépit du fait qu’elle s’écrasait à presque chaque compétition, elle était devenue accro du skeleton.

Suivant son parcours de développement, elle a remporté sa première victoire en 2015, chez elle à Calgary, à une épreuve de Coupe nord-américaine. Elle affirme que le moment où elle a grimpé à la plus haute marche du podium et a écouté l’hymne national de son pays est son souvenir favori dans tout le sport qu’elle a fait jusqu’à date. Sa mère l’a accompagnée lors de son premier séjour de compétition en dehors de l’Amérique du Nord, au Championnat du monde junior en 2016.

La piste préférée de Grace est celle où le sport de skeleton a vu le jour, à St. Moritz, en Suisse. L’une des plus grandes héroïnes sportives de Grace est la patineuse artistique et médaillée olympique canadienne, Joannie Rochette. Grace admire la remarquable résilience de cette jeune femme qui a raflé une médaille olympique à quelques jours près du décès soudain de sa mère.

Si elle ne passait pas tant de temps sur la piste de glace, Grace travaillerait à temps plein et elle consacrerait davantage de temps aux activités bénévoles au sein de sa communauté. En dépit de son programme chargé, Grace passe beaucoup de temps à faire le mentorat avec les jeunes de Calgary, aux programmes KidSport et Rapides et Radieuses, où elle inculque à la jeune génération les leçons de vie importantes qu’offre le sport. Grace a également fait un stage l’an dernier avec Classroom Champions. Elle entraîne le patinage artistique et elle exerce également la fonction d’entraîneuse de soutien au sein du programme Dark Horse Athletic, chapeauté par le médaillé d’or olympique en skeleton, Duff Gibson.

Grace a un diplôme d’éducation physique et santé avec majeure en savoir-faire physique de l’Université Mount Royal. Membre active de la communauté des diplômés MRU Grace retourne à son école chaque printemps pour parler aux nouveaux diplômés et leur indiquer les perspectives de carrière et les parcours qu’ils pourraient suivre. 

Elle adore voyager et passer du temps avec ses proches et avec sa chienne, Ivy.

Meilleurs en carrière

2019 – Canadian Selection Races, Whistler, CAN: 5
2018 – North America’s Cup: 2nd Overall
2017 – North America’s Cup, Whistler, CAN: 1 
2016 – Junior World Championships, Winterberg, GER: 19
2015 – North America’s Cup: 3rd Overall
2015 – North America’s Cup, Calgary, CAN: 1

Résultats de Coupe Intercontinentale

2020 – Intercontinental Cup, Lake Placid, USA: 17
2019 – Intercontinental Cup, Konigssee, GER: 17
2019 – Intercontinental Cup, Winterberg, GER: 18