Troy Wilson

Sport:Skeleton
Height:188cm
Weight:91kg
Birth Date:Mar. 13, 1994 (age 25)
Birth Place:Woodstock, New Brunswick
Residence:Calgary, Alberta
Instagram:@troy_the_bestest_boi

A former track and field athlete, Troy was first introduced to skeleton through the RBC Training Grounds. After his second time taking part in the program, Troy was contacted by Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton to participate in further testing. It was at this time he decided to move across the country to pursue his Olympic dream.

Troy competed in the decathlon and indoor heptathlon events for the University of New Brunswick. In his third season, he was named captain of the team. He has been a part of five Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton Testing Camps, and finally hit the sprint standard in the fall of 2019.

Troy says his mom is his hero. Not only a single parent raising three kids, but Troy says it was his mom who showed him anything is possible. On Halloween 2013, Troy’s mother suffered a midbrain stroke which nearly killed her. Not only did she make a full recovery, but she went back to school to become a nurse and graduated 2012 at the top of her class. ‘It’s never too later to follow your dreams!’

Outside of sport he has a Bachelors of Science in Kinesiology Honours from the University of New Brunswick. Tory is currently finishing his Masters of Science in Kinesiology from the University of New Brunswick. He would like to continue his education by completing a PhD in Biomedical Engineering, working towards a more neurally-integrated control systems for prosthetic limbs.

Did You Know...

Troy enjoys reading and learning about mathematics, hiking/camping in the mountains, cooking (mostly baking breakfast food – he has a fixation on breakfast), going to shows, loves horrible jokes, is a full-time personal trainer at World Health Edgemont. He was inspired to represent Canada at the Olympics after watching the men’s and women’s hockey teams win gold in 2002 Salt Lake City – the same year skeleton made its return to the Olympic programme. Halloween is his favourite holiday, and Ridley Scott’s 1979 Alien is his favourite movie. His favourite actress/actor is Sigourney Weaver. He loves heavy metal music and his top band is Black Sabbath and TWRP.

Troy Wilson

Sport:Skeleton
Taille:188cm
Poids:91kg
Date de naissance:13 mar., 1994 (Âge 26)
Ville natale:Woodstock, New Brunswick
Résidence:Calgary, Alberta
Instagram:@troy_the_bestest_boi

Ancien compétiteur d’athlétisme, Troy a découvert le skeleton lors de participer à son deuxième Camp des recrues RBC. Dans le sillage de cette expérience, Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton a contacté Troy pour l’inviter à participer à des tests additionnels. Il a donc pris la décision de déménager à l’autre bout du pays et poursuivre son rêve olympique.

Troy a concouru au décathlon et à l’heptathlon en salle pour l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. À sa troisième saison, il a été nommé capitaine de l’équipe. Il a pris part à cinq camps d’essai de Bobsleigh Canada Skeleton, et il a obtenu la norme sprint en automne 2019.

Troy dit que son plus grand héros dans la vie est sa maman. Mère célibataire qui a élevé trois enfants, elle lui a montré que rien n’est impossible. Le jour d’Halloween 2013, la mère de Troy a subi un accident cérébrovasculaire mésencéphale qui a failli la tuer. Non seulement s’est-elle complètement remise de cet incident, elle a repris ses études et est devenue infirmière, à titre de première de la classe des diplômés. ‘Il n’est jamais trop tard de poursuivre vos rêves!’

En dehors de sa vie d’athlète, Troy est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en kinésiologie de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il est en train de compléter une maîtrise en sciences en kinésiologie, toujours à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il aimerait poursuivre ses études au niveau du doctorat, dans le domaine du génie biomédical, pour développer des systèmes de contrôle des membres artificiels dotés d’une intégration neurale plus serrée.

Le saviez-vous?...

Troy aime lire et apprendre les mathématiques; il se plaît à faire des randonnées/du camping dans les montagnes, cuisiner (surtout les mets de petit-déjeuner, son repas favori de la journée), aller aux spectacles et entendre les mauvaises blagues. Il est entraîneur personnel, travaillant à temps plein chez World Health Edgemont. Son inspiration de représenter le Canada aux Jeux olympiques remonte au moment où les équipes de hockey masculine et féminine ont raflé l’or aux Jeux de 2002 à Salt Lake City – la même année où le skeleton a fait son retour au programme officiel des Jeux olympiques. Sa fête favorite est l’Halloween, et son film favori est Alien, la version que Ridley Scott a créée en 1979. Son actrice favorite est Sigourney Weaver. Il adore le Heavy Metal, et ses groupes favoris sont Black Sabbath et TWRP.